Thursday, September 29, 2005

The worst school morning yet!

The morning started off well. Darrelyn ate her breakfast and we did her hair. Then it was time for her to get dressed. After putting on her outfit she decided she didn't want to wear it. She went downstairs, got undressed and started putting on a wrinkled purple t-shirt and a jean dress that doesn't even cover her bottom. I told her it was too small and she started having a fit. So I picked out a longer dress, that I know is one of her favorites, and she refused to wear it. By this point I was quite angry that I have raised such a spoiled child. I explained to her that some children don't have pretty clothes and have hardly any clothes at all. Then I told her that she IS wearing this dress and I took all the clothes hanging in her room away and told her that until she can appreciate that she has nice clothes, she will wear what "I" say she wears and will have no input. At this point she started crying and saying that she doesn't want to go to school. She continued crying as I put on her shoes. She continued crying as I put on her jacket. She continued crying as I drove her to school (since we were already 20 minutes later than usual). She continued crying as I took her out of her booster seat (something she normally does without my help). She continued crying as I walked her into school. She continued crying as we hung yup her school bag. She continued crying as we went into her classroom. She refused to get her snack out of her lunchbox. She continued crying as I left and the teacher held her back. Luckily, her teacher is very understanding about these situations and helped a lot! As far as I know, she is still crying.

My energy is now completely drained and its only a quarter after 9 in the morning! I feel like crying myself :( OH and this would have to happen on the day before my period is due to start. AAARRRRGGG.

6 Comments:

Blogger Lisa said...

*hugs*

All children have their moments. I'm sure I was a terror on more than one occasion, and no doubt you were as well. She'll be fine; luckily kids don't hold grudges the way teens and adults do.

11:07 AM  
Blogger Joanne said...

Yup you're right. I'll probably pick her and she'll be fine. That is until she realizes that I'm sticking to my guns on the clothing issue.

If she apologizes, without prompting, for her behaviour this morning then I will give her 3 outfits to pick from tomorrow. Otherwise, I pick it she wears it, until she learns to appreciate the freedom she had.

Maybe I'm being too strict. I just don't want to raise a spoiled child who takes what she has for granted.

12:11 PM  
Blogger canadianicewolf said...

I don't think you're being too strict. I think you're not only teaching her to appreciate, but to also be aware and to be responsible. Well done and I'm sure she'll be fine. I agree with Lisa in that more than likely all will be forgotten.

1:52 PM  
Blogger Joanne said...

Thanks Terri-lynn

Update: Darrelyn was perfectly fine afterschool, as you guys said she'd be.

6:06 PM  
Blogger Cyn said...

I'm a little late on this one, but I also agree with T-L that you're not being too strict. (: Glad she was better at the end of the day!

4:01 PM  
Blogger Ladybug Mom said...

Oh Joanne I feel your pain! Kenz was the exact same way about picking out clothes. We eventually got a cool little thing that hangs from her closet rod with a little cubby for each day of the week, and on Sunday we'd pick out her clothing for the entire school week, worked like magic! Got it at Wal-Mart!

9:20 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home