Wednesday, August 31, 2005

Back to work

No not outside work, stay-at-home-mom work ;) Gary went back to work on Monday after 3 weeks of vacation. While he was home, I felt like it was my right to take a vacation too. Needless to say, not much housework was done. Oh and it was even worse after leaving Gary alone with the two girls ;) He kept up with the dishes and kept the girls clean and happy, what more could I ask for? Well, a maid to clean the whole house would have nice :D

Anyway, Monday I met one of the mom's from playgroup at McDs. The kids played while we got caught up. Playgroup is going to start back up the Monday after school starts. Monday afternoon, I called the school to get Darrelyn's teacher's name and find out when I should have her there on Tuesday. The secretary didn't have her teacher's name yet. She said that their systems were down, understandable, and told me there would be greeters on Tuesday morning to guide us in the right direction. Oh and she suggested we get there for 8:30 for the first day. I also found out that Darrelyn goes Tuesday, is home Wednesday, and then back on Thursday. Its neat the way they stagger them.

Yesterday, I felt like crap. If it was the right time for it, I would say I was PMSing, but its not. I was just grumpy and irritable all day. A call from Yvonne helped break my funk, but I still didn't feel like doing anything.

Today, much better. I did what flylady calls "crisis cleaning" and, although I still have a lot to do, the house is starting to look presentable again.

Its somewhat weird. I feel really comfortable in someone's else's messy house, doesn't bother me a bit, yet when my own house is messy.... I feel stressed and cranky. Now that the house is looking better, I feel better. As I said, its somewhat weird.

5 Comments:

Blogger Cyn said...

I loooovvvvveeee flylady!

7:47 PM  
Blogger Joanne said...

I do too :) Although, I have to be honest that I don't put shoes on when I'm cleaning the house. Just not comfortable enough for cleaning mode.

7:59 PM  
Blogger Cyn said...

I can't get into the shoes thing either. It just feels wrong to wear shoes in the house so I either wear my comfy mocassins or my big poofy tiger slippers. LOL I've done a combined take on this & clean sweep and it's working for me. Little by little I'm moving beyond the decluttering tasks and finding I have only the regular cleaning tasks. Yippee!!! And wow it is so amazing what a difference the shiny sink means. I thought they were crazy at first. It really does make a difference!

8:55 PM  
Blogger Lisa said...

For me its always a matter of time. The house seems to get messy all on its own (we're hardly there so I don't know how it happens...) and then I've got a big mess to clean. I have to plan cleaning days. *sigh* A maid would be nice...

1:37 PM  
Blogger Joanne said...

Even as a SAHM I find I have to have "cleaning days" too. In fact, its not unusual for Gary to bring the girls out for a Saturday afternoon so I can get things done.

The way I see it though is that I'm a stay-at-home-MOM not a stay-at-home-maid/cook ;)

Flylady's crisis cleaning is great for those days :D

4:45 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home