Tuesday, May 31, 2005

I love the sunshine

Today, the sun came out. Yes, you heard me right, the sun! The girls played outside for quite awhile, which is always nice. By the time they came in, they were wiped so they went to their rooms and watched cartoons for about an hour. A very nice afternoon indeed! The baby was really good too. He was happy playing and we cuddled a little, but not much yanging today.

Once the baby was picked up, the girls and I headed out to the Bulk Barn and then to the garage for the van's inspection. B is now in bed, although I'm sure she'll be up before she falls asleep, and D is in the bathtub. Here's hoping for an easy night.

Productive morning

Wow what a busy morning. I started out by cleaning the kitchen while the baby was eating his breakfast. I only managed to get the counters and sink cleaned, but its much better than it was. Then after the baby went down for his nap, D and I cleaned her room. That took almost an hour... YIKES. Still haven't found our phone. G thought he left it in D's room but it wasn't in there. Hmmm I wonder where it could be. Then, the girls went out to play and I cleaned the living room. I even cleaned under the couch, chair and desks, still no phone. I'm afraid it may be in the disaster area known as "the toy room" EEK.

So now I am finally sitting down and eating my lunch. Its nice to feel like I've actually accomplished something today.... even if I didn't find the phone.

Monday, May 30, 2005

Weekends are wonderful

You'll notice I didn't rant at all this weekend. Why? Because weekends are wonderful.

Friday night I met with some friends for Karaoke. Don't worry I didn't sing, although I did become part of a rockette line ;) I was then invited out for cheesecake, but had to decline as I was quite tired from the night before. Perhaps next time.

Saturday morning we woke up with D standing beside our bed, completely dressed, even hair brushed, ready to go to the market. She had been asking about the market all winter. Well the market opened this month and since dance class is now over, Thank God, we told her we would go. So G and I rolled out of bed and got ourselves and B ready and headed to the Farmer's market. I ordered 3 chickens, which will be ready in July, and bought some fudge. G got his usual samosas(sp?) and fresh juice, D got cotton candy and B got popcorn. We had fun looking at the booths and stuff. On the way back we stopped at SIL's yardsale and then headed home just before the downpour began.

After dropping G and the girls off, I went in search of a mattress for the top bunk. I found one for a decent price, loaded it up in the van, picked up some beer (well you can't do room reorganization without beer) and headed home. G had already started emptying B's room and had the top bunk off the bottom. We moved the top bunk upstairs and rearranged some of the furniture in B's room and now she has a big girl bed :)

Sunday, I woke up feeling like crap. I started my period, which explains the mood swings last week, and it was the worst it has been in a long time. I got up and brought D to Sunday School. She was the one who said she wanted to go and then when we got there, she clung and cried. Finally I told the teacher that I was just going to go and asked for her help. I left and stood outside the door for about 5 min to ensure D would calm down and sure enough she did. I know she was just looking for attention *sigh* Rather than stay for bible study, I went home. I felt way too icky to stay and sit there. When I picked D up, I peeked into the room and saw her happily listening to the story. On the way home, we had a nice talk about her behaviour before class!

Sunday afternoon was a lazy afternoon. The girls were playing well so G and I played WoW. We met a nice guy from Quebec and played with him in the afternoon. Then after the girls went to bed, we played with current friends and chatted through team speak. It was my first time hearing the voice of a guy we've been playing with from Maine, so that was kind of cool. We're thinking BBQ this summer.

This morning was also quite nice. The lady who was supposed to host playgroup wasn't feeling well so we met at McDonald's instead. The girls behaved well, although B kept feeling left out. Now the baby is sleeping and the girls are playing outside. How nice is that!

Tonight is Dance Class ... YAY.

Friday, May 27, 2005

Feeling better

Okay, house is semi-clean, I am showered and the girls are dressed with hair brushed out. Feeling better now. Still tired, with a slight headache, but advil will take care of that.

Why do I feel this way?

I got a call from my aunt this morning, saying she was going to be in my neighbourhood this afternoon and would like to drop by and see us. We haven't seen this aunt in quite awhile so I should be really happy she is coming by. But I'm not. I'm tired and had hopes of the girls going for a nap this afternoon so I could too. OR at least hopes of reading my book all day and doing nothing. Well now I have to clean my house, shower, get dressed and entertain someone for the afternoon. Don't get me wrong. I love my aunt and really am happy to see her, but why pick the one day that I don't have to do housework and have the possibility of an afternoon nap? *sigh*

Now I just feel angry at myself for being so selfish and sad that I'm going through these emotions. Need to get cleaning some more and compose myself so I can portray that happy, perfect housewife image. AARRGGGG

Sooo tired, but happy

Last night I went out to my friend's house and got in around 1:00am. We all have great husbands, but sometimes they just do stuff that is so completely stupid you just need to rant. So last night was our chance. After last night, I am realizing, again, how great G is. The only complaint I have had was that he was working alot of overtime and weekends. So last weekend he orchestrated a night away for us, without kids, and this week when the project manager said they would have to be working late and probably the weekend, G said he wasn't going to do it. He said he missed his family and they were more important. He's such a great guy!

So no plans for today. I don't have the baby and the girls are playing really well right now. Last night I stopped by WalMart and bought the Heffalump movie so I am waiting to pull that out of my pocket when I need some peace. I think today is going to be a great day!

Thursday, May 26, 2005

The good times

D did the sweetest thing last night. G brought in the mail and there was one envelope, so he let D open it. Just as D finished opening it, B walked in and was upset because she didn't get to open mail. A few minutes later, D asked me to get her tape down. She drew a picture and made an envelope out of paper, taped it all together and gave it to B to open. I was almost ready to cry, it was so sweet! It's times like that when you realize that you are doing something right as a parent.

The baby is such a sweetheart today. He's walking as fast as he can around the living room with his hands in the air saying, "ha ha... ha ha... ha ha" Ah these are the good times.

Supper is in the oven and I can smell it cooking. mmmmm Ribs and twice-baked potatoes. If only I had some corn-on-the-cob to go with it.

Tonight, I'm going shopping. just to see what's on sale and pick up a garment rack... but still shopping, with no children, all by myself! Then I'm picking a friend up and going out to another friend's house. Hmmm I'm trying to decide between cheesecake and icecream cake. Oh the decisions one has to make.

All-in-all, a good day today.

When the girls play well...

When the girls play well together, it is a blessed day. Thus far, they have not had an argument *knock on wood*.

Today has been a somewhat lazy day so far. I cleaned the kitchen and bathroom, folded a load of towels and put some laundry on. Then I read for awhile. Its a rainy day and its supposed to continue raining until at least Tuesday *sigh*

It would be a great time to curl up and take a nap, but of course that isn't happening.

I haven't had any feelings of rage or sadness today. This is a good thing. My mood isn't exactly happy, kinda tired, but at least I don't feel upset.

I may be going out for a mom's night out tonight. One of the mom's in our playgroup is upset because her DH is going away all weekend and another mom is upset with her DH for going out alot too. I guess I have it pretty good that unless G is working, he is either home or waits until the girls go to bed to go out. I think tonight calls for cheesecake!

I made Beef Enchilada casserole for supper last night and the girls actually like it!!!! I was first shocked when they wanted to try it and then even more shocked when they wanted more. Yay! We have another meal the entire family likes. Dad also came for supper last night and he even got seconds.... something he rarely does.

Wednesday, May 25, 2005

Cleaning

Here I was proud of myself for shredding the entire block of mozza, to freeze, and happily sweeping the kitchen floor when I hear screaming coming from B's bedroom. I went in to find that they had folded the tv tray I had set up for them to eat their snack and there was shredded mozza all over the carpet. I was a little ticked at this, but I went and got the hand vac and started cleaning it up. Then as I'm cleaning it, B starts eating the cheese left in her bowl and she is spilling even more than she is getting in her mouth... this is after I showed her how to catch it with her bowl. AARRRRGGGGG

Also, while I was cleaning up the shredded cheese... do you know how hard that is to get out of a rug?... D starts yanging because I'm not giving him attention at the exact moment that he wants attention.

So now I'm tired and irritable. I just want to have a good cry or go to sleep. I can't go to sleep cause I have three children in my care and I can't have a good cry cause I don't know how to explain the crying to my children when I am trying to teach them not to cry over unimportant stuff... like spilt milk (or cheese in this case)

*sigh*

Should I go or should I stay

This is Wednesday morning and lately on Wednesday mornings we go to the centre for "Crafts for Big People". They provide free daycare and the mommies go in a seperate room and do a craft. Sounds fun, right? Well it is fun, except that D cries each time I try to leave her. I know its not the childcare workers, its that she wants to come in with me. Here I am thinking I will just stay home and miss out on my crafts just because I don't want to go through this scenario. Not to mention that it is after 8:00, both girls are still sleeping and the baby also looks tired. If I try to get them ready in time to go, I have a feeling they will be quite grumpy :(

Peace

This is the times I really look forward to in my day. The baby is napping and both girls are playing without fighting, yet. I was able to get some housework done and can relax, finally eat some breakfast and read some of my boards.

Tantrums

Temper tantrums are the most stressful part of being a mother. Not only is the screaming worse than finger nails on a chalkboard, but all the experts say we should ignore them. This is where the really stressful part is. Your child is laying on the floor, screaming to get their way, and what do you do? Nothing. Different feelings go through me during a child's tantrum. I must admit that Duct tape has crossed my mind a time or two, but, of course, I am a responsible parent and would never do such a thing. The feeling I am having at the moment is anger. Which is why I am typing. The feelings inside me are to pick them up and scream right back at them to "Shut UP!" Once again, I would never do this because a) that is counterproductive to calming a child down and b) "shut up" is a not-nice word that comes with a time-out penalty.

One of the bad things about our society is that no one ever talks about these hidden feelings. Everyone is so scared that someone else might judge them a bad parent. I know I would never say these feelings to my friends, unless in a joking manner. Why is this?

If my mother were still alive, I know she would understand.

Dance recital

Last night was a rehearsal for the girls dance recital. I say 'a' rehearsal because they are supposed to have another one tomorrow night. Last night's rehearsal was just for those children doing the opening and closing acts and it was chaos. To me, it was how I remember rehearsals. To my children, it was loud, overwhelming and scary.

Tomorrow night is supposed to be the dress rehearsal. The girls can't stand their costumes as, "they're itchy" (said in a whiny voice for the entire time we were trying to get their pictures done) Actually, I shouldn't lump the girls together as B just sucked it up and D did all the complaining. D now just refuses to put it back on.

So, G and I made an executive decision... No Dance Recital and No Dance Classes until they are much older.

Tuesday, May 24, 2005

Unexpected happenings

Two unexpected things happened today. First, G's cousin dropped by for a visit with a friend. It was nice to see him and the girls were also happy to see him again. I also met his friend who seemed really nice.

The second unexpected thing was finding out that I have Friday off. I.e. my SIL is taking Friday off so I don't have the baby that day. Hmmm what to do.